Writing Fellowship

Check In
Check Out

Australia to Sri Lanka

Eleven Australian authors were shortlisted for the 2014 Templeberg  Writing Fellowship. Last year’s winner of the writing fellowship was UK and Australian Award winning writer Michelle Wright.


Now in its third year, the writing fellowship will send an Australia writer to Templeberg Villa in Galle in the Southern Province of Sri Lanka for two- to four-weeks to work on a writing project.

The international writing fellowship is a philanthropic initiative of the Australian based owners of Templeberg Vila, Christopher Shields and Brent Carey. The winning writer will receive return airfare from Melbourne to Colombo in Sri Lanka, a 30-day tourist visa, internal transfer costs, accommodation Galle, full board (all meals) and an A$1,000 spending allowance.

Writing Fellowship shortlist

For the 2014 writing fellowship, the shortlisted writers were: Aden Rolfe (NSW) Chris Armstrong (NSW) Christy Collins (VIC) Gloria Meltzer (VIC) Greg Woodland (NSW) Lenny Bartulin (TAS) Lisa Walker (NSW) Lucy Nelson (ACT) Richard Newsome (QLD) Sophie Overett (QLD) Virginia Jealous (WA).

Lucy Nelson is the 2014 Templeberg writing fellow and Lucy takes up her writing residency on 3 November 2014.

Templeberg Announcement

Writing Judges

The international judging panel chaired by acclaimed Sri Lankan-based author Royston Ellis also includes Victorian travel writer Michelle Aung Thin, winner of last year’s fellowship Michelle Wright, and the owners of Templeberg Villa, Brent Carey and Shields. The judges will select one winner, who will be announced at a special event hosted by Writers Victoria at The Salon in Melbourne on Tuesday 12 August 2014

Templeberg Villa and Writers Victoria encourage Australian writers to apply for the 2014 Templeberg Residential Writing Fellowship.

The application process, submission guidelines and terms and conditions are available from Writers Victoria (external link).

Villa In Galle, Sri Lanka, Retreat Southern Province